The Eagan City Council consists of a Mayor and four Council Members who form the legislative body of the City. The Council Members work collectively, in partnership with the Mayor, to establish the City's overall priorities and direction. The Council adopts and upholds local laws and public policies to strengthen and preserve the health, safety, and welfare of the community. The Council appoints approximately 35-40 residents to serve on various commissions to research and advise on specific topics.